Henle Verlag


Henle Verlag

£19.99 Collect In Store 0% Finance Available

Collect In Store

All our products are available to collect in store. Simply select "Local Pickup" in the delivery options during the checkout process!


We have a number of finance options available to suit your needs, including 9-month, interest-free finance. Use the Finance calculator below to work out the best option for you and choose "Apply For Finance" during checkout to complete your application.
Add to wishlist

ebussy wrote his solitary Violin Sonata in the closing days of his life, plagued by the distress of the ongoing Great War, financial difficulties and health issues of a terminal cancer. Shortly after its completion in April, the first performance took place on May 5th, 1917 with Debussy himself at the Piano. This was the composer’s last public appearance before his death in 1918.

The Sonata For Violin and Piano was the third and final composition in a cycle intended to consist of six sonatas for various instruments. It has an overall atmosphere of melancholy, while also capturing contradictory characteristics such as joy and silliness, presented in a form closer to a fantasia than a sonata. The three expressive movements (Allegro vivo, Intermede and Finale) are written in a French nationalistic spirit with distinctive influences from Spanish and gypsy music throughout. This ambiguousness and ambivalence in form, sound, and character all attribute to Debussy’s innovative language of ‘musical impressionism’ which has become a favourite of musicians and audiences alike.

The comments at the end of this Urtext edition provide detailed information on the sources and alternative readings, while the preface by François Lesure in German, English and French gives historical and biographical context. Two copies of the Violin solo are included as separate inserts.

UK Shipping

UK postage is free on most items, excluding pianos, digital pianos and double basses which we will quote on an individual basis.

We send smaller items via Royal Mail and larger items via a carrier. We will e-mail you when your order has been shipped. Orders usually take 2-3 working days.

ROI Shipping

Delivery to Ireland is free on items over £179, excluding pianos, digital pianos and double basses which we will quote on an individual basis. For delivery of items under £179, the cost is £10.

International Shipping

We are happy to give a quote for international shipping. Email info@matchettsmusic.com or phone us on +44 (0) 28 9032 6695 for a price.

Piano Shipping

Due to the size and weight of pianos and digital pianos, we have to quote for delivery on an individual basis, Email us at info@matchettsmusic.com or phone us on 028 9032 6695 for a quote.

Returns Policy

You have 14 calendar days to return an item from the date you received it. To be eligible for a return, your item must be unused and in the same condition that you received it.

Your item must be in the original packaging, and have the receipt or proof of purchase.

Please note that gift vouchers are not eligible for refunds.


If you need to return an item, simply login to your account, view the order using the 'Complete Orders' link under the My Account menu and click the Return Item(s) button. We'll notify you via e-mail of your refund once we've received it, inspected it and processed the returned item.

If your return is approved, we will initiate a refund to your credit card (or original method of payment). You will receive the credit within a certain amount of days, depending on your card issuer’s policies.

Return Shipping

You will be responsible for paying for your own shipping costs for returning your item.


For any delivery questions or queries, send us an email at info@matchettsmusic.com, or call us on 028 9032 6695.

Recently Viewed Products



Your cart is currently empty.

Continue Shopping

Total £0.00